Old Argo Railroad Station
Argo Railroad Station (ca. 1872-1930's), Mickleright store in background. Was located near old town hall/fire staion and auction house on Hwy 11.

Argo History

(The following excerpt is taken from the book "Argo Through The Years" by Claude Earl Massey)

By 1818 many settlers had migrated into this area. Alabama's Territorial Governor, William W. Bibb, signed into law "an act to alter and ascertain more particularly the boundaries of the county of Shelby and to lay off a new county in the northeast part thereof, to be called and known by the name of St. Clair County." As one can see from the further description found in Section 2 of the Act, much of present Jefferson County was then in St. Clair County. "Beginning at the northwest corner of the county of Shelby, and from thence running along the ridge dividing the waters of the Black Warrior from those of the Cahawba and Coosa rivers to the Cherokee boundary line, thence along said line to the Coosa River, thence down said river to the county of Shelby, and thence along the boundary of said county to the beginning, shall form one county to be called and known by the name of St. Clair."

According to the Act of November 21, 1818, creating St. Clair County, it was provided "for the time being, the said courts for said county of St. Clair, shall be holden at the house of Alexander Brown" (Act 1818 2nd Session page 72-3). However, it was also provided that for want of necessary buildings at this place, the courts could adjourn to such other places contiguous thereto, as might seem most proper. It was on this provision that court was held at the home of Samuel Massey, Justice of the Peace.

Circuit Court records. St. Clair County. Page 65
"State of Alabama
St. Clair County

In compliance with an order of court from April Term 1820. We, the undersigned arbitrators chosen by said parties to settle the controversy between Robert Fullerton, Plantiff and Jean McCombe, Deft. Convened at the house of Samuel Massey ( Justice of the Peace) in said county on the 19th of April 1820 and on investigating their accounts, we find most of their account erroneous and out-of-date, but on those accounts which were not out-of-date, we find a balance due from the plaintiff to the defendant of twenty-nine dollars and twenty-five cents. We therefore do award: the plantiff shall pay all costs except the deft. shall pay his own attorney.

Given under our hands and seals

19th April 1820

Warren Truss
Ruben Keyton
James Martin

William Hobbs
Charles C. Clayton
James Martin, Esq."

Warren Truss, whose name appeared first, undoubtedly served as jury forman. He entered the eighty acres joining Samuel Massey to the west. St. Clair County's western boundary extended to what is now Deerfoot Parkway. Most of the area south and west of Argo is now located in Trussville. Therefore the first court held in what is now Trussville, was held in the home of Samuel Massey, J. P. on April 19, 1820.

On February 19, 1987 residents of Argo voted to incorporate and in April of that year, Gordon H. Massey was elected its first mayor. Douglas Smith, George Johnson, Donald "Duck" Leopard, Rassie Loggins and Paul Jennings were elected as the first town council.

City of Argo Alabama logo

City Council
Mayor Betty Bradley
Rick Hopkins
Dennis Griffin
Tommy Suggs
Danny McCarley
Ann Brown (Mayor Pro-Tem)

Argo Zoning Commission Meeting

City of Argo Zoning Commission Meeting is scheduled for June 6, 2024 at 100 Blackjack Road, Argo, AL 35173. Please view or download the agenda as well as view previous meeting minutes at: Agendas/Minutes

City Hall
100 Blackjack Road
Argo, AL 35173
Phone: 205-352-2120
Fax: 205-352-2118